









TELANGANA STATE BIODIVERSITY BOARD UNEP – GEF – MoEF&CC-ABS Project

"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions"

Introduction about the project

The Telangana State Biodiversity Board is implementing UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS Project title -"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions". The GEF project on ABS is the first ever global project - a programmme to access genetic resources, assess their economic value and share the benefits arising out of them among the local people.

Report on training programme on LBF fund utilization to the Biodiversity Management Committees held on 20-01-2016 at G.P. Birla Science Center, Adharsh Nagar, Near Birla Mandir, Hyderabad:

Under the project the Board has created awareness to the local bodies and constituted 35 BMCs in 10 districts of Telangana State. As part of the project activity the Board has organized a training programme on Utilization of LBF fund 2nd installment to 35 BMCs on 20-01-2016 at G.P. Birla Science Center, Adharsh Nagar, Near Birla Mandir, Hyderabad.

OBJECTIVE OF THE TRAINING

To increase awareness among the BMC Members in order to utilize the LBF funds effectively to implement the conservation of Biological Resources

Biological Diversity Act -2002, Telangana State Biological Diversity Rules 2015 and ABS mechanisms in the Telangana State.

Mr. G. Sailu, State Project Coordinator welcomed the gathering and briefed about the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, Rules for access to biological resources and/ or associated knowledge for research or biosurvey and bio-utilization for research, BMC Functions, highlighted the need for conservation of biological resources from the exploitation and LBF fund utilization. He has also shared various experiences and interacted with the members of the BMC.

After that, Mr. Deepak.R, WWF briefed about, the importance and process of documenting the Biological Resources and conserving them, Traditional knowledge and their role in preparation of People's Biodiversity Registers.

Dr. V. Vasudeav Rao, Scientist, PJTSAU, by briefing the importance of Agribiodiversity and preservation of crops from various Pests and Natural Remedies. He also shared his research results with the participants.

The training programme was concluded by discussions and clarified the doubts.

The list of BMCs Chairman and Member secretaries present during the meeting:

S.No	BMC Members Name	Designation	BMC Name	District
1.	MA Moulana	Member	Pallerla	Mahaboobnagar
2.	Manikyamma	Secretary	Pallerla	Mahaboobnagar
3.	Ramulu	Member	Namapur	Nalgonda
4.	K. Vasantha Laxmi	Chairman	Namapur	Nalgonda
5.	J. Balaraju	Secretary	Namapur	Nalgonda
6.	K. Laxmi Bai	Secretary	Kamjipur	Medak
7.	Sateesh Kumar	Chairman	Khushnur	Medak
8.	Bashwaraj	Secretary	Khushnur	Medak
9.	K. Srinivas	Secretary	Alair	Waranagal
10.	MD Shirfe	Member	Alair	Wanarangal
11.	J. Sayappa	Secretary	Khajipur	
12.	B. Sailu	Member	Khajipur	
13.	S. Subhakar	Secretary	Vinobhanagar	Khammam
14.	B. Malsur	Chairman	Vinobhanagar	Khammam
15.	CH. Narsimha	Chairman	Kothagudem	Nalgonda
16.	G. Anjaiah	Secretary	Kothagudem	Nalgonda
17.	P. Nageshwarrao	Secretary	Kothalingala	Khammam
18.	B. Prasad	DBC, Khammam	TSBDB	Hyderabad
19.	K. Veeresh	Secretary	Eklaspur	Mahaboobnagar
20.	Devanna	Member	Eklaspur	Mahaboobnagar
21.	M. Jampaiah	Secretary	Perkapally	Karimnagar
22.	Srinivas	Member	Perkapally	Karimnagar
23.	P. Veeranna	Secretary	Chinna Chelmeda	Medak
24.	K. Krishna	Member	Chinna Chelmeda	Medak
25.	J. Venkat	DBC, Medak	TSBDB	Hyderabad
26.	J. Mali	Chairman	Seethanagaram	Warangal
27.	M. Venkanna	Secretary	Seethanagaram	Warangal
28.	M. Madhu	Member	Nerada	Medak
29.	R. Shravan Kumar	DBC, Nalgonda	TSBDB	Hyderabad
30.	G. Muttaiah	Member	Jeelacheruvu	Khammam
31.	K. Yellamma	Chairman	Jeelacheruvu	Khammam
32.	S. Mogulappa	Secretary	Gudimunkanpally	Mahaboobnagar
33.	K. Srinivas	Member	Gudimunkanpally	Mahaboobnagar
34.	Eshwar	Member	Pallerla	Mahaboobnagar
35.	Jysudhakar	Member	Jeelacheruvu	Khammam
36.	KL Chandar	Member	Nereda	Medak

37.	Lingesh	Member	-	Mahaboobnagar
38.	G.Sailu	SPC	TSBDB	Hyderabad
39.	R. Prasad Babu	TA	TSBDB	Hyderabad
40.	K. Lavanya	Finance Asst.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
41.	G. Sateesh Kumar	Comp. Asst.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
42.	M. Venkanna	Comp. Asst.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
43.	Swamy	Finance Asst.	APSBDB	Hyderabad
44.	Hari Krishna	Office Asst.	APSBDB	Hyderabad
45.	I. Yogesh	Office Asst.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
46.	N. Sudhakar	Office Asst.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
47.	Sabeth	Office Asst.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
48.	Yesobu	DBC, Khammam	TSBDB	Hyderabad
49.	A. Laxmi	DBC, Waranagal	TSBDB	Hyderabad
50.	T. Tippanna	DBC, MBNR	TSBDB	Hyderabad
51.	Bharath Kumar	DBC, MBNR	TSBDB	Hyderabad

Photo Gallery









